Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa
By the HotSpringsFind editorial team · How we compile records · Reviewed September 2026
Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa is a resort hot spring listed near Niland, California. No soak temperature is on record. See the visit fact sheet.
Current status
Seasonal RV resort at the base of the Chocolate Mountains near Niland/Salton Sea; open Oct 15-May 15 only — CLOSED summers (reopens ~Oct 15, 2026); six individual fill-and-drain mineral tubs, heated pool and jacuzzi fed by a 530-ft well; day use $15/person 10am-4pm, RV sites ~$42-50/night.
Checked September 2026 · verified on the operator’s site · 7 sources ↓
Before you go
- Status: Open — last verified below — confirm via Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa — official rates page (Oct 15-May 15 season, $15 day use 10a-4p, RV rates).
- Cost: Reported $15/person — confirm current rates before visiting.
- Getting there: Developed resort — confirm operating hours and any reservation requirement.
- Water: No soak temperature on record — always test the water before entering.
- Rules: Reported clothing required; pets reported not allowed — confirm current rules.
- Conditions: check weather, fire closures, and land-manager alerts the week you go — mountain access changes seasonally.
- Reservations/permits: None — day-use fee at office; overnight sites reservable but often available without reservation.
- Best time to go: November-February for comfortable desert weather; day use midweek.
- Clothing reality: Official: not published; swimsuits standard in pool/jacuzzi common areas. The six mineral baths are individual fill-and-drain tubs (private-style rooms), so attire there is effectively private. Legal: private property policy.
- Kids: Allowed.
- Cell service: spotty — download maps and tell someone your plan.
- Accessibility: Flat RV park with ground-level facilities; pool/tub entries not verified accessible — call ahead.
- CLOSED May 15-Oct 15 every year — no exceptions; this is a winter desert resort
- Day use is 10am-4pm only, $15/person — facilities officially for registered guests
- Recent visitors report only ~3 of 6 mineral baths operational at times — expect variability
- Monthly rate adds metered electric on top of $540/mo full-hookup
- Remote Niland location near Slab City/Salvation Mountain — quirky area, limited services; stock up beforehand
- Summer closure is heat-driven — Imperial Valley routinely exceeds 110F
- Official website is minimal/dated — call (760) 354-1315 to confirm current operations before driving out
- Hazard: Extreme summer heat (reason for seasonal closure)
- Hazard: Remote desert location — limited nearby services
About this spring
Seasonal RV hot springs resort at the base of the Chocolate Mountains near Niland — six individual fill-and-drain mineral bathtubs plus a heated pool and jacuzzi fed by a 530-ft artesian mineral well. Fee: Day use ~$15/person; seasonal Oct 15-May 15. Seasonal only (Oct 15-May 15); remote.
Oscar and Retha Bashford opened ten RV sites here in 1963, growing a little grocery store and a patch of free camping into a 143-site, 70-acre winter resort at the base of the Chocolate Mountains — about 85 feet below sea level in the Imperial Valley's Colorado Desert. Their son Craig still runs it the old way: no reservations, first-come first-served, and gates shut all summer, when temperatures can hit 120°F before monsoon humidity rolls in from Mexico. The season runs October 15 through May 15.
An artesian well more than 500 feet deep delivers naturally heated, highly mineralized water at about 150°F that is free of sulfur odor; it cools through a tower and pipes to roughly 101°F for the soaking pool and 84-87°F for the swimming pool, while six fill-and-drain bathtubs are emptied after each guest and need no chemical treatment. Saltwater-treated pools, Saturday-night dances, cookouts and bingo fill out the snowbird routine, and day use runs 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at $15 per person.
Directions & trailhead access
10590 Hot Mineral Spa Rd — Hwy 111, then 3.5 mi north on Hot Mineral Spa Rd.
California geothermal context
California spans several geothermal provinces: the volcanic Cascades and Modoc Plateau in the northeast, Sierra Nevada granite seeps along the eastern front, Mojave and Colorado Desert springs in the south, and the famously mineral-rich Big Sur coast. Fire season (roughly June–November) closes access to many backcountry springs without warning — always check for current fire restrictions.
What a resort site means here
A resort spring is a commercial operation: developed pools or tubs with controlled temperatures, changing facilities, and usually day-use fees or lodging packages. Expect posted rules (swimsuits, quiet hours, age limits), staff on site, and in many cases required reservations — especially on weekends and holidays.
Best time to visit
Year-Round (Best: May – October)Pool temperatures and access can change with weather and season. Outdoor ambient temperatures fluctuate significantly across California. Late spring through autumn offers the most comfortable road access.
Fact sheet
| Reported soak temp | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Source temp (historical) | Not reported |
| Trail access | Recorded coordinates — access unverified |
| Access fee | Reported $15/person — verify |
| Clothing policy | Reported clothing required |
| Pet policy | Reported no pets |
| Geothermal data reference | NOAA Thermal Springs List (1980 archive) |
| Check land status | Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa — official rates page (Oct 15-May 15 season, $15 day use 10a-4p, RV rates) |
Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa FAQ
Is Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa open right now?
Seasonal RV resort at the base of the Chocolate Mountains near Niland/Salton Sea; open Oct 15-May 15 only — CLOSED summers (reopens ~Oct 15, 2026); six individual fill-and-drain mineral tubs, heated pool and jacuzzi fed by a 530-ft well; day use $15/person 10am-4pm, RV sites ~$42-50/night. (Status verified on the operator’s site, last checked September 2026.)
Is Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa free?
Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa is listed with reported fees near Niland. Fees are reported; confirm admission, parking and permit costs with the site manager.
What temperature is Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa?
No soak temperature is on record for Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa. Always test water temperature before entering.
Is Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa clothing optional?
Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa is listed as swimsuit-required in directory records. Confirm current rules before visiting, as policies change.
How do you access Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa?
Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa is a private venue with paid public admission. Confirm current hours, fees and booking requirements with the operator before visiting.
Overnight options and spring admission
Book rooms, cabins or soaking times directly with the operator.
Check overnight options with the operatorSources & references
- Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa — official rates page (Oct 15-May 15 season, $15 day use 10a-4p, RV rates) — operator · 2025
- Bashford's Hot Mineral Spa — official home (facilities: 143 FHU, 6 mineral baths, heated pool/jacuzzi) — operator · 2025
- The Dyrt — Bashford's reviews (3 of 6 baths operational, views, staging info) — community · 2025
- Good Sam — Bashford's RV Park listing (Oct-May season confirmation) — community · 2025
- Hot Springs Guides — Bashford's profile (530-ft well, day-use terms) — community · 2025
Additional references for this record; a source link does not guarantee current conditions.
- woodallscm.com/ashley-bashfords-spa-touts-desert-setting
- hotspringslocator.com/bashfords-hot-mineral-spa
Details above were verified against the named sources on their listed dates — conditions change, so recheck before traveling. · How we verify our data · Report a correction
Your private trip notes
Saved only in this browser — not published or shared.No private notes yet
Keep access details and observations for your own planning.