Paso Robles Inn Hot Springs

Paso Robles, California (San Luis Obispo County)

By the HotSpringsFind editorial team · How we compile records · Reviewed September 2026

View only — no soaking

The hotel is thriving after a $25M renovation completed Sept 2024 — but the famous in-room mineral-spring spa tubs were removed and the inn's own FAQ now states 'in-room spa tubs are no longer available'; what remains is a regular heated pool/hot tub (8am-10pm, guests only) plus standard soaking tubs in 1889 House bathrooms, so do NOT book here expecting hot-spring water.

Field notes — checked September 2026

  • CRITICAL: no mineral/hot-spring soaking anywhere on property anymore — in-room spa tubs removed in the 2023-24 renovation; several third-party sites still advertise 'mineral spring spa rooms' (stale copy)
  • 1889 House rooms have bathroom soaking tubs but they are regular water, not spring-fed
  • Daily destination fee ~$45+tax; self-parking $20/night+tax; valet included for Piccolo guests
  • Dog-friendly rooms only in designated categories — $150 fee, 2 dogs max
  • Check-in 4pm, check-out 11am; 72-hour cancellation policy
  • For actual Paso Robles hot-spring soaking, the inn itself directs guests elsewhere in town (e.g., River Oaks Hot Springs Spa)
Temp not reportedFees reported

Current status

Spring
Open
Road
Open
Access
Private — paid entry
Soaking
Soaking prohibited
Water
Unconfirmed
Crowds
Busy weekends

The hotel is thriving after a $25M renovation completed Sept 2024 — but the famous in-room mineral-spring spa tubs were removed and the inn's own FAQ now states 'in-room spa tubs are no longer available'; what remains is a regular heated pool/hot tub (8am-10pm, guests only) plus standard soaking tubs in 1889 House bathrooms, so do NOT book here expecting hot-spring water.

Checked September 2026 · verified on the operator’s site · 8 sources ↓

About this spring

Historic downtown Paso Robles hotel (1891 site) over the sulfur hot springs that founded the town — 'California's oldest watering place'; select guest rooms offer private mineral hot springs tubs. Fee: Soaking via select rooms with private hot springs tubs. Hot spring access via private in-room tubs only — book a hot springs room.

The Paso Robles Inn stands over the sulphur springs that founded the town — promoted as 'California's oldest watering place' as early as 1795, where Salinan people used the springs and hot mud deposits and Franciscan priests built mineral baths at nearby Mission San Miguel. Daniel Blackburn and Drury James — uncle of Frank and Jesse James — assembled the rancho lands in the 1860s, advertised 'the Only Natural Mud Baths in the World' in 1882, and raised a 37-room bathhouse and plunge over the sulphur spring in 1888. Construction of the grand El Paso de Robles Hotel began the following year on the downtown square.

The million-brick Victorian resort — host to presidents, Hollywood stars and, legend holds, a hiding Jesse James — burned in December 1940, sparing only the Grand Ballroom; the current motor-era inn was rebuilt in 1942 from salvaged brick. The geothermal water, which emerges near the town center at about 109°F as a calcium-magnesium carbonate-chloride spring, still serves select guest rooms through private mineral hot springs tubs — and the 2003 San Simeon earthquake even opened a new hot spring vent in the center of town.

Directions & trailhead access

Access is restricted; do not use historical directions to plan a visit.

California geothermal context

California spans several geothermal provinces: the volcanic Cascades and Modoc Plateau in the northeast, Sierra Nevada granite seeps along the eastern front, Mojave and Colorado Desert springs in the south, and the famously mineral-rich Big Sur coast. Fire season (roughly June–November) closes access to many backcountry springs without warning — always check for current fire restrictions.

What a resort site means here

A resort spring is a commercial operation: developed pools or tubs with controlled temperatures, changing facilities, and usually day-use fees or lodging packages. Expect posted rules (swimsuits, quiet hours, age limits), staff on site, and in many cases required reservations — especially on weekends and holidays.

Fact sheet

Source temp (historical)Not reported
Trail accessRecorded coordinates — access unverified
Access feeFees reported
Geothermal data referenceNOAA Thermal Springs List (1980 archive)
Check land statusPaso Robles Inn — official 'Know Before You Go' FAQ ('in-room spa tubs are no longer available'; pool/hot tub 8am-10pm; fees)

Paso Robles Inn Hot Springs FAQ

Is Paso Robles Inn Hot Springs open right now?

The hotel is thriving after a $25M renovation completed Sept 2024 — but the famous in-room mineral-spring spa tubs were removed and the inn's own FAQ now states 'in-room spa tubs are no longer available'; what remains is a regular heated pool/hot tub (8am-10pm, guests only) plus standard soaking tubs in 1889 House bathrooms, so do NOT book here expecting hot-spring water. (Status verified on the operator’s site, last checked September 2026.)

Can I soak at Paso Robles Inn Hot Springs?

The hotel is thriving after a $25M renovation completed Sept 2024 — but the famous in-room mineral-spring spa tubs were removed and the inn's own FAQ now states 'in-room spa tubs are no longer available'; what remains is a regular heated pool/hot tub (8am-10pm, guests only) plus standard soaking tubs in 1889 House bathrooms, so do NOT book here expecting hot-spring water.

Where can I check access to Paso Robles Inn Hot Springs?

Check Paso Robles Inn — official 'Know Before You Go' FAQ ('in-room spa tubs are no longer available'; pool/hot tub 8am-10pm; fees): https://pasoroblesinn.com/about-our-resort/know-before-you-go/

More hot springs in California