Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort
By the HotSpringsFind editorial team · How we compile records · Reviewed September 2026
Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort is a resort hot spring listed near Desert Hot Springs, California. No soak temperature is on record. See the visit fact sheet.
Current status
Family-owned 1971 RV resort/spa on Dillon Rd in Desert Hot Springs with 4 non-chlorinated mineral spas drained and refilled every morning; day passes first-come first-served at $25 Mon-Fri / $30 weekends & holidays (kids 4 & under free, pets $10 grass-area only) — call (760) 329-6457 to confirm day-pass hours.
Checked September 2026 · verified on the operator’s site · 5 sources ↓
Staying overnight?
Choose a room in Desert Hot Springs; mineral pools and guest access depend on the property you book.
Desert Hot Springs is about 4 mi from the spring (straight line).
We may earn a commission from bookings through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Before you go
- Status: Open — last verified below — confirm via Sam's Family Spa — Day Passes page ($25 M-F / $30 weekends+holidays, kids 4&under free, pets $10).
- Cost: Reported $25 — confirm current rates before visiting.
- Getting there: Developed resort — confirm operating hours and any reservation requirement.
- Water: No soak temperature on record — always test the water before entering.
- Rules: Reported clothing required; reported dog-friendly.
- Conditions: check weather, fire closures, and land-manager alerts the week you go — mountain access changes seasonally.
- Reservations/permits: None — day pass at office, 70875 Dillon Rd; (760) 329-6457.
- Best time to go: Weekdays; winter season and weekends draw snowbird RV crowds.
- Clothing reality: Official: swimsuits required — marketed as a family spa; community guides list it 'clothing required'. Customary: suits only. Legal: venue policy.
- Kids: Allowed.
- Cell service: ok — download maps and tell someone your plan.
- Accessibility: Mostly level resort grounds with pools/spas; specific accessibility features not published — call ahead.
- Day passes are first-come first-served, quantity limited by occupancy — no reservations; call ahead to confirm availability and day-use hours (not published online)
- The 4 mineral spas are drained/cleaned/refilled each morning — expect brief morning downtime
- Pets $10 each and restricted to grass areas with their human — not in pool/spa areas
- Some areas periodically under construction/renovation per amenities page
- Massage suite treatments must start by 8pm; out-of-hours bookings need 24-hr notice + surcharge
- Hazard: Mineral spas run hot (community reports ~108F source water)
- Hazard: Desert sun exposure at outdoor pools
About this spring
Family-owned Desert Hot Springs institution for 50+ years — four non-chlorinated mineral hot spring pools at different temperatures drained and refilled daily, plus a swimming pool, sauna and 175-site RV park. Day passes $25-30. Fee: Day pass $25-30 first-come. Day passes limited by occupancy — call ahead.
Sam's sits on 40 acres of Desert Hot Springs land atop the geothermal aquifer along the San Andreas Fault that made the town famous. Built in 1971 as a family-oriented resort, it draws on three wells of increasing depth and heat — 300 feet at 105°F, 280 feet at 127°F, and 265 feet at 142°F — to fill four partially enclosed mineral pools held between roughly 99°F and 104°F. The pools are drained, cleaned and refilled with fresh well water every morning, and Sam's bills itself as the only hot springs in the area that uses no chlorine.
Published water chemistry shows a sodium-chloride water (about 230 ppm sodium, 120 ppm chloride) with bicarbonate, calcium and silica and a mildly alkaline pH near 8. Beyond the pools, the property operates as a full resort with a large freshwater swimming pool, sauna, 175 RV sites, motel rooms and tiny homes; day passes are sold first-come, first-served, with pets allowed in the grass area only.
Directions & trailhead access
70875 Dillon Rd, Desert Hot Springs — ~15 min from Palm Springs via I-10/Palm Dr.
California geothermal context
California spans several geothermal provinces: the volcanic Cascades and Modoc Plateau in the northeast, Sierra Nevada granite seeps along the eastern front, Mojave and Colorado Desert springs in the south, and the famously mineral-rich Big Sur coast. Fire season (roughly June–November) closes access to many backcountry springs without warning — always check for current fire restrictions.
What a resort site means here
A resort spring is a commercial operation: developed pools or tubs with controlled temperatures, changing facilities, and usually day-use fees or lodging packages. Expect posted rules (swimsuits, quiet hours, age limits), staff on site, and in many cases required reservations — especially on weekends and holidays.
Best time to visit
Year-Round (Best: May – October)Pool temperatures and access can change with weather and season. Outdoor ambient temperatures fluctuate significantly across California. Late spring through autumn offers the most comfortable road access.
Fact sheet
| Reported soak temp | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Source temp (historical) | Not reported |
| Trail access | Recorded coordinates — access unverified |
| Access fee | Reported $25 — verify |
| Clothing policy | Reported clothing required |
| Pet policy | Reported dog-friendly |
| Geothermal data reference | NOAA Thermal Springs List (1980 archive) |
| Check land status | Sam's Family Spa — Day Passes page ($25 M-F / $30 weekends+holidays, kids 4&under free, pets $10) |
Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort FAQ
Is Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort open right now?
Family-owned 1971 RV resort/spa on Dillon Rd in Desert Hot Springs with 4 non-chlorinated mineral spas drained and refilled every morning; day passes first-come first-served at $25 Mon-Fri / $30 weekends & holidays (kids 4 & under free, pets $10 grass-area only) — call (760) 329-6457 to confirm day-pass hours. (Status verified on the operator’s site, last checked September 2026.)
Is Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort free?
Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort is listed with reported fees near Desert Hot Springs. Fees are reported; confirm admission, parking and permit costs with the site manager.
What temperature is Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort?
No soak temperature is on record for Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort. Always test water temperature before entering.
Is Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort clothing optional?
Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort is listed as swimsuit-required in directory records. Confirm current rules before visiting, as policies change.
How do you access Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort?
Sam's Family Spa & Hot Water Resort is a private venue with paid public admission. Confirm current hours, fees and booking requirements with the operator before visiting.
Where to stay in Desert Hot Springs
Choose a room in Desert Hot Springs; mineral pools and guest access depend on the property you book.
Desert Hot Springs is about 4 mi from the spring (straight line).
We may earn a commission from bookings through these links, at no extra cost to you.
Sources & references
- Sam's Family Spa — Day Passes page ($25 M-F / $30 weekends+holidays, kids 4&under free, pets $10) — operator · 2026
- Sam's Family Spa — FAQs (day passes first-come first-served, no reservations) — operator · 2026
- Sam's Family Spa — Amenities (4 non-chlorinated spas, sauna, steam rooms, dog park) — operator · 2026
- Hot Springers — Sam's Family Spa & RV Resort visit report (clothing required, ~108F water) — community · 2024-12
Additional references for this record; a source link does not guarantee current conditions.
Details above were verified against the named sources on their listed dates — conditions change, so recheck before traveling. · How we verify our data · Report a correction
Your private trip notes
Saved only in this browser — not published or shared.No private notes yet
Keep access details and observations for your own planning.