Two Bunch Palms

Desert Hot Springs, California (Riverside County)

By the HotSpringsFind editorial team · How we compile records · Reviewed September 2026

Two Bunch Palms is a resort hot spring listed near Desert Hot Springs, California. No soak temperature is on record. See the visit fact sheet.

Temp not reportedFees reported 4.4 · 803 Google reviews

Current status

Reservation or permission required

Gated adults-only (18+) wellness resort on 77 acres in Desert Hot Springs built around the 600-year lithium-rich Grotto spring — all access is by confirmed reservation only (rooms, spa, or limited day passes); Mineral Soak day pass runs ~$79 (9am–7pm) and a $345 Day Retreat (Mon–Thu) bundles a 60-min spa treatment + lunch; Coachella Valley locals get $49/$39 admission Jun 1–Sep 30, 2026.

Spring
Open
Road
Open
Access
Private — paid entry
Soaking
Day-use hours only
Water
Normal
Crowds
Usually quiet

Checked September 2026 · verified on the operator’s site · 7 sources ↓

Staying overnight?

Choose a room in Desert Hot Springs; mineral pools and guest access depend on the property you book.

Desert Hot Springs is under a mile from the spring.

Find stays in Desert Hot Springs

We may earn a commission from bookings through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Before you go

  • Status: Reservation or permission required — confirm via Two Bunch Palms — official FAQ (18+, pets, fees, cancellation).
  • Cost: Fees reported — confirm current rates before visiting.
  • Getting there: Developed resort — confirm operating hours and any reservation requirement.
  • Water: No soak temperature on record — always test the water before entering.
  • Rules: Reported clothing required; pets reported not allowed — confirm current rules.
  • Conditions: check weather, fire closures, and land-manager alerts the week you go — mountain access changes seasonally.
  • Reservations/permits: None — but reservation (room/spa/day pass) is mandatory for gate entry
  • Booking: Reservation required.
  • Best time to go: Day passes easiest Mon–Thu; book spa treatments before arrival for weekends/holidays; June–Sept brings the locals rate and lighter crowds
  • Clothing reality: Official: swimsuit required in pools/grotto — this is not a clothing-optional property. Customary reality matches. Private property; suits required in shared wet areas.
  • Kids: Adults only.
  • Cell service: ok — download maps and tell someone your plan.
  • Accessibility: Resort publishes an accessibility page; pools and grotto involve steps/uneven stone — call ahead for specific mobility needs; on-property shuttle provided
  • Gated entry — NO walk-ins; every visit needs a confirmed room, spa, or day-pass reservation
  • Day passes are limited and availability changes seasonally — historically paused at times; confirm before driving out
  • Day pass ~$79 (9am–7pm); $1 charitable charge added at checkout can be removed on request
  • Day Retreat $345++ (Mon–Thu 9am–4pm, holidays/blackouts excluded) includes 60-min spa treatment (excludes deep tissue/wet treatments) + entrée + non-alcoholic drink
  • 2026 locals program: $49 day admission or $39 with a purchased treatment, Jun 1–Sep 30 2026 only — must show qualifying local ZIP on ID
  • Adults 18+ only — no exceptions, day or overnight
  • Overnight stays: $200/night incidental hold, first night charged 72hrs ahead on standard rate; non-refundable rates charge in full at booking; suites need 7 days' cancel notice
  • 4.6% wellness fee + 15.195% city bed tax on rooms; extra guest $85/night
  • Salt room reserved for overnight guests; whisper-quiet etiquette posted around the Grotto
  • Pets prohibited (service animals must be declared in advance and wear a vest)
  • Hazard: Desert heat — summer daytime temps exceed 100°F
  • Hazard: Some guest reports of maintenance issues (rust around mud baths) and insects — an outdoor natural property

About this spring

Legendary 77-acre adults-only wellness resort in Desert Hot Springs built around The Grotto — a natural lithium-rich mineral spring documented for 600+ years. Five outdoor mineral pools, six private soaking tubs and a full spa; operating since the 1940s. Fee: Primarily overnight resort; spa/day access limited. Adults only; gated entry — no casual walk-ins.

The resort takes its name from the 1909 U.S. Army Camel Corps survey that mapped this corner of the desert as 'Two Bunches of Palms,' after the tree clusters marking the water. The Cahuilla used these mineral springs for centuries before that; the water rises from an aquifer estimated at 600 years old, emerges above 100°F, and is said to fully replenish every 24 hours. Sitting astride the San Andreas fault, the property draws from a hot well to the north and a cold well to the south.

Two Bunch Palms opened to the public as a hotel in 1940 and became a byword for discretion — legend holds that Al Capone used it as a Prohibition-era hideout, though Mob Museum historians note there is no concrete evidence. Hollywood clientele followed in the 1950s. After fading along with the rest of Desert Hot Springs, the 77-acre property modernized carefully: a three-acre solar farm completed in 2014 made it the first carbon-neutral resort in America, and it was renovated again in 2019. Day passes are available for non-guests.

Directions & trailhead access

67425 Two Bunch Palms Trail, Desert Hot Springs.

California geothermal context

California spans several geothermal provinces: the volcanic Cascades and Modoc Plateau in the northeast, Sierra Nevada granite seeps along the eastern front, Mojave and Colorado Desert springs in the south, and the famously mineral-rich Big Sur coast. Fire season (roughly June–November) closes access to many backcountry springs without warning — always check for current fire restrictions.

What a resort site means here

A resort spring is a commercial operation: developed pools or tubs with controlled temperatures, changing facilities, and usually day-use fees or lodging packages. Expect posted rules (swimsuits, quiet hours, age limits), staff on site, and in many cases required reservations — especially on weekends and holidays.

Best time to visit

Year-Round (Best: May – October)

Pool temperatures and access can change with weather and season. Outdoor ambient temperatures fluctuate significantly across California. Late spring through autumn offers the most comfortable road access.

Recommended soaking windowEarly Morning & Sunset
Packing & trail adviceBring quick-dry towels, slip-resistant footwear, and thermal layers for stepping out into brisk mountain air.

Live Outdoor Soaking Weather

Reported Directory Data
California Geothermal Area • Temp not reported
No temperature on record — verify conditions before visiting.
Live NOAA sync...Directory Data

Fact sheet

Reported soak tempNot reported
Source temp (historical)Not reported
Trail accessRecorded coordinates — access unverified
Access feeFees reported
Clothing policyReported clothing required
Pet policyReported no pets
Geothermal data referenceNOAA Thermal Springs List (1980 archive)
Check land statusTwo Bunch Palms — official FAQ (18+, pets, fees, cancellation)

Two Bunch Palms FAQ

Is Two Bunch Palms open right now?

Gated adults-only (18+) wellness resort on 77 acres in Desert Hot Springs built around the 600-year lithium-rich Grotto spring — all access is by confirmed reservation only (rooms, spa, or limited day passes); Mineral Soak day pass runs ~$79 (9am–7pm) and a $345 Day Retreat (Mon–Thu) bundles a 60-min spa treatment + lunch; Coachella Valley locals get $49/$39 admission Jun 1–Sep 30, 2026. (Status verified on the operator’s site, last checked September 2026.)

Is Two Bunch Palms free?

Two Bunch Palms is listed with reported fees near Desert Hot Springs. Fees are reported; confirm admission, parking and permit costs with the site manager.

What temperature is Two Bunch Palms?

No soak temperature is on record for Two Bunch Palms. Always test water temperature before entering.

Is Two Bunch Palms clothing optional?

Two Bunch Palms is listed as swimsuit-required in directory records. Confirm current rules before visiting, as policies change.

How do you access Two Bunch Palms?

Two Bunch Palms is a private venue with paid public admission. Confirm current hours, fees and booking requirements with the operator before visiting.

Where to stay in Desert Hot Springs

Choose a room in Desert Hot Springs; mineral pools and guest access depend on the property you book.

Desert Hot Springs is under a mile from the spring.

Check overnight options with the operator

Find stays in Desert Hot Springs

We may earn a commission from bookings through these links, at no extra cost to you.

Sources & references

Additional references for this record; a source link does not guarantee current conditions.

Details above were verified against the named sources on their listed dates — conditions change, so recheck before traveling. · How we verify our data · Report a correction

Your private trip notes

Saved only in this browser — not published or shared.

No private notes yet

Keep access details and observations for your own planning.

More hot springs in California